Who are we?  Featured Cameras  Articles  Instruction Manuals  Repair Manuals  The Classic Camera Repair Forum  Books  View/Sign Guestbook

Jammed shutter, olympus om 1n Log in | Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

Classic Camera Repair » Archives-2005 » Jammed shutter, olympus om 1n « Previous Next »

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Loz

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Posted on Thursday, March 24, 2005 - 08:15 am:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

I recently bought an Olympus Om 1n from ebay and yesterday the shutter jammed, as I am a complete novice when it comes to camera repairs, yet very good at learning technical skills, is it worth having a bash at fixing it myself? And can any of you fine people offer advice on how to do it? I am thinking that the cost of a repair will be more than the cost of buying a new body, so I may as well give it a pop!

Martin

Posted on Thursday, March 24, 2005 - 10:10 am:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

The shutter could be jammed for many simple or complex reasons. Certainly, with a OM1n going for $100 you are going to have to work hard to find anyone who will take on this project for less than the price of a replacement.

As the OM1n is totally mechanical though it is well worth playing with yourself. Simple things first; is this really the shutter or does it have to do with the film advance mechanism? Is it really the shutter or is it the self timer? Is anything else jammed or not working - it could give us a clue as to what is the real problem? Is the release jammed solid or is there movement? These kind of things will help you find the cause.

Loz