Who are we?  Featured Cameras  Articles  Instruction Manuals  Repair Manuals  The Classic Camera Repair Forum  Books  View/Sign Guestbook

Ricoh Diacord G (sticky aperture)... Log in | Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

Classic Camera Repair » Archives-2005 » Ricoh Diacord G (sticky aperture) « Previous Next »

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Doug

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Posted on Friday, May 20, 2005 - 04:41 am:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

I recently acquired a near mint Diacord whose only issue is a sticky but usable aperture. It has a Citzen shutter. I have some shutter CLA experience with simple medium format folders, Richoflex TLR, etc. Is is pretty straight forward? That is, remove the front leatherette, screws, etc.? Any advice is greatly appreciated!

Gary Turner

Posted on Friday, May 20, 2005 - 10:33 am:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

I recently cleaned the blades in a Ricoh Diacord that had a sticky aperture. I used a rubber stopper to carefully unscrew the taking lens black name ring with front lens cell attached. It unscrewed rather easily. I then cleaned the blades using very small amounts of naphtha on small compressed bits of Kleenex held with bent tip tweezers. I alternated Kleenex tissues between damp and dry (to wick up the residue) until the blades were fully clean and dry. Once the lens was reinstalled the shutter operated perfectly at all speeds. Fortunately I did not see any need to go further into disassembly for any shutter cleaning. Of course your particular camera may need more thorough cleaning (hopefully not). In my opinion these Diacords are superb cameras, amongst the very best of Japanese efforts to build a high quality TLR.

Doug