Who are we?  Featured Cameras  Articles  Instruction Manuals  Repair Manuals  The Classic Camera Repair Forum  Books  View/Sign Guestbook

Sears Ks-2 cable release problem Log in | Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

Classic Camera Repair » Archives-2005 » Sears Ks-2 cable release problem « Previous Next »

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Dan

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Posted on Saturday, May 21, 2005 - 06:28 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

I'm new to SLR cameras in general, and just acquired a Sears KS-2 off ebay. Anyway, I bought a cable release and screwed it into the threads in the center of the shutter release button. When I try to use it, well-doesn't work. I'm pushing the release, and get nothing but heavy resistance. Is something broken/stuck, or do I have to have a specific release for this camera? Or maybe I'm just a moron and I'm not doing this right at all...

rick

Posted on Saturday, May 21, 2005 - 10:09 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

The KS2 works with a standard cable release. Check that the center rod in yours is not too large to fit through the hole in the camera's shutter release button, and that the cable works freely when it is not attached to the camera. There should not be much resistance, it's just closing a switch in the camera.

Dan

Posted on Sunday, May 22, 2005 - 11:29 am:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)