Who are we?  Featured Cameras  Articles  Instruction Manuals  Repair Manuals  The Classic Camera Repair Forum  Books  View/Sign Guestbook

Cleaning glass / lens work Log in | Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

Classic Camera Repair » Archives-2005 » Cleaning glass / lens work « Previous Next »

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

John

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Posted on Saturday, December 03, 2005 - 06:23 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

Hi, this is my first time posting here but I've been tinkering with camera repair for several years.

I just got finishing cleaning the fungus out of a Konica Hexanon AR 50mm F1.7. The "cleanup" was successful, except I have traded the fungus for dust (lint) specs. I really did this for the practice because I don't have a Konica body, but I'm wondering if anyone can make recommendations regarding best techniques for lens cleaning for an absolutely spotless ending.

Thanks,
John

rick oleson

Posted on Saturday, December 03, 2005 - 06:48 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

I don't know if an absolutely spotless ending is possible. If you're working in your home, there will be dust in the air and some will find its way into the lens. For best results, make sure the room you work in is as clean and dust-free as possible, blow out the barrel and the glass with compressed air just before reassembling the elements back into the lens. Disposable tissues, even lens tissues, always leave bits behind, so do your final lens handling with a lint free cloth... micro-fiber is great but flannel or old T-shirt fabric can do a good job too.

And remember, too, that fungus left untreated is fatal to a lens but a few specks of dust do no harm.

Will