Who are we?  Featured Cameras  Articles  Instruction Manuals  Repair Manuals  The Classic Camera Repair Forum  Books  View/Sign Guestbook

Adjusting the mirror on Mamiya C330f TLR Log in | Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

Classic Camera Repair » Archives-2004 » Adjusting the mirror on Mamiya C330f TLR « Previous Next »

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Deen Hameed

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Posted on Sunday, January 11, 2004 - 03:27 am:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

I (re)moved the mirror on my olde Mamiya C330f TLR while trying to get the gunk off it, without realising that it was shimmed into position...

Now I have no focus... :'(

Does anyone have a step-by-step procedure for reseating the mirror, and adjusting the focus for this camera? I am a newbie to the TLR and camera repairs, but I'm reasonable bright (so my mum says), and it doesn't seem too complicated (only I don't wanna make things worse)...

Deen

Jim Brokaw

Posted on Sunday, January 11, 2004 - 11:38 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

I'm not familiar with the C330f TLR, but you should be able to adjust the focus screen to set the focus as well as shimming the mirror. One important thing I believe is that the mirror must be at exactly 45-degrees angle. It seems like shims might risk getting than angle changed if they were not exactly uniform. I know fixed lens TLR's usually have means of adjusting the focus of the viewing lens to conform to the in-focus point of the taking lens. I don't know if Mamiya interchangable lens pieces have a similar adjustment, though it seems like they should.

paul ron