Who are we?  Featured Cameras  Articles  Instruction Manuals  Repair Manuals  The Classic Camera Repair Forum  Books  View/Sign Guestbook

Pentax Spotmatic Lens viewer Log in | Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

Classic Camera Repair » Archives-2004 » Pentax Spotmatic Lens viewer « Previous Next »

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Leigh

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Posted on Friday, March 12, 2004 - 07:29 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

I have just picked up an old Pentax Spotmatic which quite obviously needs work. I am new to photography of this nature but feel if I can get this camera working it should give better pics than my digital. The lens view is black, I mean, I can not see through it so I suspect that the blind is permanently closed and the shutter button is not working. Is there an easy fix for a newby or do I give up in disgust?

David Nebenzahl

Posted on Friday, March 12, 2004 - 08:08 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

We need a slightly better description of what's wrong. If you take the lens off the camera (you can figure out how to do this, can't you?), you should see the mirror behind it sitting at a 45° angle. If the viewfinder is black, it's possible the mirror is up (the position it moves to when the shutter opens), blocking the viewfinder. Tell us what you see there.

Leigh

Posted on Saturday, March 13, 2004 - 03:41 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)