Who are we?  Featured Cameras  Articles  Instruction Manuals  Repair Manuals  The Classic Camera Repair Forum  Books  View/Sign Guestbook

Contax D Shutter Log in | Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

Classic Camera Repair » Archives-2004 » Contax D Shutter « Previous Next »

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Gabe Waters

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Posted on Wednesday, March 24, 2004 - 07:12 am:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

I have a Contax D and the opening curtain only opens about half way on the slow speeds (I think the faster speeds are fine but its hard to tell). I have some experience with leaf shutters but I have never 'gone after' a curtain shutter system so I would like some advice. The interesting thing is that the timing of the closing curtain is perfect even at the slowest speeds so I am hesitant to start mucking about and messing up the timing if all I need to do is adjust the opening curtain. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

rick oleson

Posted on Wednesday, March 24, 2004 - 03:34 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

HI Gabe:

There's nothing wrong with the mechanism, the curtains are dry and stiff and need to be replaced. I have a set of instructions here:

http://rick_oleson.tripod.com/index-87.html

The higher speeds are not just fine as is, though: the first curtain is hesitating and being slammed home by the second curtain, so you'd only get about half a frame of exposure with it.

Don't try to compensate by increasing the spring tension; it won't work, and you don't want to damage the springs in the attempt.

email if you need help.

rick :)=

Gabe Waters