Who are we?  Featured Cameras  Articles  Instruction Manuals  Repair Manuals  The Classic Camera Repair Forum  Books  View/Sign Guestbook

Voigtlander VitoII Log in | Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

Classic Camera Repair » Archives-2004 » Voigtlander VitoII « Previous Next »

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Andrew Wilson

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Posted on Sunday, April 04, 2004 - 12:01 am:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

Hello All,
I am totally new to the concept of camera repair so please use short simple words if you can help me. I have been given a lovely VitoII in pristine condition except for the external shutter release seeming to be jammed. The shutter releases fine manually but the little button atop the "front door" barely moves nor does the cable release. As this camera has hardly been used I wonder what the problem is...can someone please give me some ideas as I would love to have this little gem as a regularly used camera.
Regards
Andrew

Howard

Posted on Sunday, April 04, 2004 - 12:49 am:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

Hi Andrew.
The Vito II is designed in such a way that it requires a film to turn the sprockets so the the button can be pressed. It is a double exposure prevention system. Try this, cock the shutter, open the back and turn the sprocket shaft to the right until you get a definite click and then you should find that the button works just fine,
Good Luck
Howard

Andrew Wilson

Posted on Sunday, April 04, 2004 - 01:34 am:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

G'day Howard,

The word "Inept" springs to mind...guess what? You put film in the camera and it works!! What a novel idea!!