Who are we?  Featured Cameras  Articles  Instruction Manuals  Repair Manuals  The Classic Camera Repair Forum  Books  View/Sign Guestbook

NIKON F-2 strangeness Log in | Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

Classic Camera Repair » Archives-2004 » NIKON F-2 strangeness « Previous Next »

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

jth

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Posted on Thursday, April 22, 2004 - 04:48 am:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

I am just getting started in photography. I recently bought a nikon f-2 w/DP-1. Got the slides back and they look like they were taken with a cheap digital camera! The slides from my other nikon bodies using the same lens were fine. Underexposed? Film bad? Mirror misaligned? Some pictures were fine, others strange. Perhaps the shutter speed is off on some stops. Also the meter (DP-1) is four stops slow. Know any fixes? I can live with the meter but this strange "pixelization" of the slides is wierd. Thanks!

rick oleson

Posted on Thursday, April 22, 2004 - 10:29 am:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

This does not sound like a camera problem... it could be bad film.

If your meter is 4 stops off, how are you determining your exposures? and how did you determine that the meter is 4 stops off? If you're just getting started in photography, I'm assuming that you don't have a dozen good cameras and meters lying on the shelf for comparison; but I suppose that may not be a safe assumption.

Also, what kind of film are you using? Slide film, when underexposed, generally just goes dark... underexposed negatives, however, exhibit low contrast and extreme graininess in the prints similar to what you seem to be describing.