Who are we?  Featured Cameras  Articles  Instruction Manuals  Repair Manuals  The Classic Camera Repair Forum  Books  View/Sign Guestbook

Olympus 35 ED Log in | Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

Classic Camera Repair » Archives-2004 » Olympus 35 ED « Previous Next »

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Kevin Elliott

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Posted on Saturday, June 05, 2004 - 06:55 am:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

Hello everyone,
I am a total novice to vintage cameras, so forgive me if my questions are a bit basic....I have recently acquired a reasonable looking Olympus 35 ED. It came with no batteries but was believed to be working. Having "fiddled" and advanced the film winder and cocked the self timer, I find I am unable to release either! Assume that's because it needs those batteries? That brings me on to the next, and I suspect often asked question, about suitable replacements for the old (2x) RM 640's or HM-N's. What is recommended?
I'd really like to get this camera working and wondered also if anyone can steer me towards a reliable repairer, should the insertion of replacement batteries not do the trick - I live in the south of England.
Many thanks in advance.
Kevin Elliott

charles stobbs

Posted on Saturday, June 05, 2004 - 08:17 am:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

Yes, you need batteries. Here in the USA the easiest good substitute are zinc/air hearing aid batteries, #675. They are smaller than the originals nand need shimming/fitting.Cheers

Jan Dvorak

Posted on Saturday, June 05, 2004 - 12:23 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

Hello Kevin