Who are we?  Featured Cameras  Articles  Instruction Manuals  Repair Manuals  The Classic Camera Repair Forum  Books  View/Sign Guestbook

Yashica Lynx 1000 Log in | Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

Classic Camera Repair » Archives-2004 » Yashica Lynx 1000 « Previous Next »

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Roger

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Posted on Saturday, June 12, 2004 - 08:34 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

This is my ever first venture into "Classic" cameras. I have just acquired this Yashica but I can not open the film chamber as the slide lock release button appears to be 'disconnected.'

I have no tools and no experience what so ever of camera repair . . . and certainly no technical knowledge of this camera.

I live in Birmingham UK - where can I get help and assistance? Who can, or may be able to, offer me a repair?

Dan Mitchell

Posted on Sunday, June 13, 2004 - 12:42 am:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

If I remember correctly, this is just like the Lynx 5000. You slide the button forward and then press down. Sometimes the light seal foam has deteriorated to the point that the back won't pop open. You may have to give it a little help by gently pulling up on the back. Replacing the light seals will fix that problem.

If the release button really is disconnected, you can remove the bottom cover and press the release latch directly.

roger

Posted on Sunday, June 13, 2004 - 09:36 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

No, you got it in one!
It was the small matter of pressing after moving - rather than before.

Thanks Dan.

Can I ask another?
Is the light meter adjustable?