Who are we?  Featured Cameras  Articles  Instruction Manuals  Repair Manuals  The Classic Camera Repair Forum  Books  View/Sign Guestbook

Mirror stuck up in Minolta Maxxum 3xi Log in | Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

Classic Camera Repair » Archives-2004 » Mirror stuck up in Minolta Maxxum 3xi « Previous Next »

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Dale Scheidemantle

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Posted on Sunday, June 27, 2004 - 03:53 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

My mirror has stuck in the up position and won't come back down!

I have never worked on a camera before, but was wondering if it was (hopefully) something that I could fix myself.

Any suggestions?

Dale Scheidemantle

Posted on Tuesday, June 29, 2004 - 07:49 am:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

Any suggestions besides the obvious....

"time to get a real camera"

I can't afford the $1000 for a decent camera
right now and would love to get this one going
again.

Thanks for any input!!!!!

Jon Goodman

Posted on Tuesday, June 29, 2004 - 10:58 am:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

Hi, Dale.
Did the shutter fire completely? Can you re-cock the camera?
Jon

Dale Scheidemantle

Posted on Tuesday, June 29, 2004 - 12:56 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

The camera won't do anything now.

It has HELP in the display.

The only time it does anything at all is when you put in the battery. It makes a sound like a motor trying to run and then stops.

It won't respond to anything on any of the controls.