Who are we?  Featured Cameras  Articles  Instruction Manuals  Repair Manuals  The Classic Camera Repair Forum  Books  View/Sign Guestbook

Zenit ES view finder problem Log in | Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

Classic Camera Repair » Archives-2004 » Zenit ES view finder problem « Previous Next »

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Matt Jahans

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Posted on Wednesday, August 11, 2004 - 06:30 am:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

Hi

I have recently aquired a Zenit ES Photo Sniper camera. Now I'll be totally honest and admit that I am an SLR virgin, I've never used one before so my knowledge is lacking.

It appears to be in working order mechanically and I will soon be trying a roll of film. However when looking through the view finder I get an image but it appears to be dirty as if a lense needed cleaning. I have cleaned the telephoto lens and the standard one and the problem still is present using either. The external face of the view finder has been cleaned and also the mirror and ground glass after removing the lense - but non of this cured the problem.

Could this be down to a dirty prism ? The camera was stored in a shed for many years so possibly damp may have effected it. A slight trace of mould (?) was cleaned from the telephoto lens so I imagine a similar fate may have happened to the prism ?

I would also be interested if there is anywhere in the UK that would service such a camera should this be required

Any ideas apprciated.

Thanks in advance

Matt J

Will

Posted on Wednesday, August 11, 2004 - 09:02 am:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

Hi Matt,