Who are we?  Featured Cameras  Articles  Instruction Manuals  Repair Manuals  The Classic Camera Repair Forum  Books  View/Sign Guestbook

Nikkormat FT Metering Problem Log in | Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

Classic Camera Repair » Archives-2004 » Nikkormat FT Metering Problem « Previous Next »

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Bibita

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Posted on Thursday, September 23, 2004 - 11:27 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

Hello!

The light meter on my Nikkormat FT 4700890 does not seem to be working. I have not replaced the batteries, as I don't know where batteries are located. Bear with me, as I am a beginner & have been doing research to try & figure out the camera design, but have not been very successful. The light meter is showing that it is underexposed & the needle won't move. I guess that the first step is to replace the batteries & see if that solves the issue, but I don't want to take it to an expert who will charge me through the nose, as I am quite poor at the moment:( Can someone walk me through this process (in layman's terms, please:)? What kind of batteries should I be using to replace the Mercury ones that are most likely the original ones that the camera came with? I have been reading about some horror stories of Mercury batteries being replaced with Silve-oxide ones that over-heated & damaged the camera... What do I do? Please help!

rick oleson

Posted on Friday, September 24, 2004 - 06:54 am:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)