Who are we?  Featured Cameras  Articles  Instruction Manuals  Repair Manuals  The Classic Camera Repair Forum  Books  View/Sign Guestbook

Minolta SRT100b prism "rubbish" falle... Log in | Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

Classic Camera Repair » Archives-2004 » Minolta SRT100b prism "rubbish" fallen on focussing screen « Previous Next »

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Bill Barr

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Posted on Sunday, December 12, 2004 - 06:19 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

Hi All,

In the last month a piece of rectangular, flat dark material has fallen from the prism area onto the focussing screen of my Minolta SRT100b, which I've had for 17 yrs. I have no experience in camera maintainance, a quote for fixing it involves taking the top plate off and a cost of AUD 180-200.

I would have thought that the focussing screen could be removed from below, and this rubbish removed, but of course it might not be rubbish and needs to be put back in place. And focussing might be affected if the focussing screen is not put back in the right place.

The material looks like a flat strip or ribbon and is almost as long as the focussing screen but only about a fifth as wide.

Any comments or instructions on how to remove this material would be much appreciated.

Cheers,

Bill

rick

Posted on Sunday, December 12, 2004 - 06:22 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

Hi Bill:

I'm afraid the focusing screen does not come out downward in the SRT, the top cover does have to come off and the prism out to reach the screen. You might shop for a better price, I don't know if you'll find one or not.....

Bill Barr