Who are we?  Featured Cameras  Articles  Instruction Manuals  Repair Manuals  The Classic Camera Repair Forum  Books  View/Sign Guestbook

Need help with Olympus Pen-FT film co... Log in | Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

Classic Camera Repair » Archives-2004 » Need help with Olympus Pen-FT film counter! « Previous Next »

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

David

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Posted on Sunday, December 19, 2004 - 08:42 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

I have very little experience with cameras, so I'm hoping somebody would be able to help me out.

My camera's,(Olympus Pen FT), film counter does not work. After following the instructions in the manual for properly removing and installing film, the count still shows at 72. I'd really appreciate help.

Also, the manual says the counter should reset once the back cover is opened.

rick oleson

Posted on Monday, December 20, 2004 - 07:04 am:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

the most common cause of this problem is the dial getting dirty over the years, so that it's too sticky for the little hair spring to return it to 0 when the back opens. try slapping the top of the camera while the back is open, see if that makes it reset.

David

Posted on Monday, December 20, 2004 - 12:20 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

Slapping the top didn't help. =(

rick oleson

Posted on Monday, December 20, 2004 - 12:37 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)