Who are we?  Featured Cameras  Articles  Instruction Manuals  Repair Manuals  The Classic Camera Repair Forum  Books  View/Sign Guestbook

Must fix M4 winder lever mechanism Log in | Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

Classic Camera Repair » Archives-2004 » Must fix M4 winder lever mechanism « Previous Next »

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Philip Forrest

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Posted on Wednesday, December 29, 2004 - 09:35 am:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

I'm a US Navy photographer currently in Iraq and recently took a little damage to my personal M4 that required replacement of the winder lever. NOW, the brass collar that the winder lever sits upon will not cycle back all the way to it's ralaxed position with the lever on. The tang on the bottom of the lever that engages the brass collar prevents the collar from fully snapping back. In essence it's made the camera a double stroke in a way. I do not want to have this camera die on me and we don't have any repair personnel out here in the desert. I'm thinking I need to get the top cover off, and rotate the bras collar back to where it is supposed to be. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Henry

Posted on Wednesday, December 29, 2004 - 12:27 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

I'm assuming you mean Leica M4. And if I'm understandimg you correctly the "brass collar" is actually the central member of the drive shaft assembly. This assembly is mounted via three screws and the top plate of this assembly may be bent. Also the double stroking may be caused by a tooth having jumped.

You may email me directly and if you can accept photos and large files I can send you a scanned M2 service manual. It's about 6 megs.

Henry

Philip