Who are we?  Featured Cameras  Articles  Instruction Manuals  Repair Manuals  The Classic Camera Repair Forum  Books  View/Sign Guestbook

Collimation and focus correction Log in | Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

Classic Camera Repair » Maintenance & Repair » Collimation and focus correction « Previous Next »

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Aphototaker
Tinkerer
Username: Aphototaker

Post Number: 174

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Posted on Wednesday, March 31, 2010 - 12:10 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

I am trying to fix the focus of a Konica Auto S2 RF. There are two lens parts in the shutter assembly. One can be screwed off from the back, the other from the front. The rear one has not been moved. The focus seemed to be off a bit.

This is my first attempt at custom collimation and focus correction. I did some background reading describing various methods on how to do this.

I used an SLR with known good focusing lens to verify the focus of the RF. I discovered that I needed to loosen the front lens part to get the infinity focus right. When an object at infinity is in focus, the lens distance scale has its infinity mark aligned with the distance index marker on the body. So far so good.

The rangefinder focusing works at infinity and at smaller distances now, i.e. the parallax correction corresponds to the focus in the film plane.

However, I notice that at shorter distances the distance scale does not correspond to the actual film plane to object distance. e.g. an object at 3m when in focus is shown to be at 2.85m or so on the lens distance scale. Is this expected? If not, what am I missing in the algorithm to fix the focusing of the camera?

Thanks.

Dirbel
Tinkerer
Username: Dirbel

Post Number: 32