Who are we?  Featured Cameras  Articles  Instruction Manuals  Repair Manuals  The Classic Camera Repair Forum  Books  View/Sign Guestbook

Does this qualify me for this forum... Log in | Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

Classic Camera Repair » Maintenance & Repair » Does this qualify me for this forum... « Previous Next »

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Der_uli
Tinkerer
Username: Der_uli

Post Number: 1

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Posted on Wednesday, May 19, 2010 - 08:45 am:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

Hello to all!

I found this forum through a search for documentation of a Vivitar Series 1 Zoom - there are some related posts in the 2005 archive. I was quite surprised that there are a lot of people doing things to photographic equipment that other forums try to discourage!

Anyway, as a newbie I have to try out how to post.

Here's a picture of the Vivitar. The pin operating the iris diaphragm broke (green arrow).

Vivitar Series 1
Glueing it back in place didn't work, soldering didn't stick - the pin is brass but the ring is aluminium. Next I will try to braze it!

The following was an older repair task of an Olympus OM-2. A tiny string which couples the time ring with the internal parts got loose...
Olympus OM-2 loose string

Maybe the following Leica C3 is too new for this forum? There is a mechanical fault in the film transport gear. As Leica does no longer supply parts for analog cameras, I had to order a six-toothed, 2mm diameter M0.2 gear wheel here. I'm still waiting for it's arrival.

Leica C3 open

Now that's enough or a first post. The next weeks I will have to browse through all older topics here!

-uli

Monopix
Tinkerer
Username: Monopix

Post Number: 129