Who are we?  Featured Cameras  Articles  Instruction Manuals  Repair Manuals  The Classic Camera Repair Forum  Books  View/Sign Guestbook

Fungus lens Log in | Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

Classic Camera Repair » Maintenance & Repair » Fungus lens « Previous Next »

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Fanfaron
Tinkerer
Username: Fanfaron

Post Number: 1

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Posted on Saturday, June 19, 2010 - 10:32 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

Hi I wish to know where I should start. I'm a beginner, never overhaul a lens before.

I want to access the moving group of the lens.

I read some article on this site and it says we should always start by the front of the lens. I also see that people are talking about the spanner tools. Is it with a spanner that I'm able to remove the front element?

I don't have a decent tool, I'm planning to buy these, is it good?
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=160417348394&ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=360192434889&ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT

Is this enough?

I included a picture of the front element. As you can see, there's no nameplate on the front element, just two little slot to fit the spanner I guess.

And I try to picture the fungus.
Thank you

Johnnyh
Tinkerer
Username: Johnnyh

Post Number: 14

Posted on Sunday, June 20, 2010 - 04:16 am:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

Hi Fanfaron,
I can't give you any advice about this sort of lens, but if you tell us what is the Make and Model, somebody may be able to give you suitable help.

Der_uli
Tinkerer
Username: Der_uli

Post Number: 11