Who are we?  Featured Cameras  Articles  Instruction Manuals  Repair Manuals  The Classic Camera Repair Forum  Books  View/Sign Guestbook

(Possible) back focus on Mamiya M645 ... Log in | Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

Classic Camera Repair » Maintenance & Repair » (Possible) back focus on Mamiya M645 Pro with 800 mm lens « Previous Next »

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Sleepytomcat
Tinkerer
Username: Sleepytomcat

Post Number: 1

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Posted on Saturday, October 01, 2011 - 05:13 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

Update: sorry for my mistake, NOT 800mm, just 80mm lens.

Hi everybody,

I'm quite new to medium format film photography with my "new" Mamiya M645 Pro with Sekor 80 mm lens.

I've used my first film rolls this week, and looking at the results I feel uneasiness. Could you please advise me on the following issues:

1) when focusing on a very distant subject (maybe some miles away) the lens shows "infinity" (and stops to rotate further), however the focusing screen shows "no focus yet";

2) when focusing on close subjects I mostly get out of focus (backfocus) pictures (portraits);

3) test: focusing on a clearly visible close subject and checking the actual distance (2 m 25 cm) against lens readings (3 m) - I note the difference about 25%. (Hovewer I havent conducted a real phototest with real pictures in controllable environment.)

Please advise me on these issues: may it be the only one issue with different ways to show up? If so, what steps shall I do to fix it?

Thank you very much,
Sergey

Ismaelg
Tinkerer
Username: Ismaelg

Post Number: 73

Posted on Saturday, October 01, 2011 - 09:59 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

Hi,