Who are we?  Featured Cameras  Articles  Instruction Manuals  Repair Manuals  The Classic Camera Repair Forum  Books  View/Sign Guestbook

Yashica Electro 35 GSN shutter Log in | Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

Classic Camera Repair » Maintenance & Repair » Yashica Electro 35 GSN shutter « Previous Next »

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Railcrew
Tinkerer
Username: Railcrew

Post Number: 1

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Posted on Saturday, March 17, 2012 - 11:53 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

I'm new to this, I got the Camera on ebay, the battery wouldn't power up, I followed Matt Denton's basic tear apart, soldered a wire back to the battery case it powers up now. Problem is, no matter what ASA or Auto, B, Flash setting I use, the yellow light comes on and the shutter stays open until I release it (like B) the only thing I can think of is, when I was fiddling around the brown wire for flash fell off of the Flash plug, I didn't hook it back up figuring I would never use the flash Could that cause it?

Railcrew
Tinkerer

Post Number: 2

Posted on Sunday, March 18, 2012 - 07:29 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

Ok, I read up on the POD, mine was non existent, I replaced it, and I think I have the shutter rods adjusted correctly. It is working again to some extent, it is being very fickle in that one minute the yellow light comes on and the shutter stays open for 4-5 seconds (pointing camera at my work light, lens wide open, ASA 400) the next minute, same scenario, it works correctly. If I tap up and down on the shutter release button (after releasing shutter, before winding) it goes back and forth.

Waynemel
Tinkerer
Username: Waynemel

Post Number: 155