Who are we?  Featured Cameras  Articles  Instruction Manuals  Repair Manuals  The Classic Camera Repair Forum  Books  View/Sign Guestbook

Zenobia C 1 Log in | Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

Classic Camera Repair » Archives-2009 » Zenobia C 1 « Previous Next »

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Wes_hodge
Tinkerer
Username: Wes_hodge

Post Number: 1

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Posted on Sunday, March 01, 2009 - 11:24 am:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

Hey All!
Yesterday i acquired a Zenobia C1 w/DOC Rapid. The shutter seems to be sticking. It moves with a little help, but only if i help it out. My dad put some oil on the lever thinking thats what was sticking, however that didnt work, and now there is oil on the shutter blades itself.

I have no experience with a repairing cameras, but would love to take on this project. any of you guys have suggestions or can direct me to a step by step instructions on this type of repair for this camera?

all help is much appreciated!

Markus
Tinkerer
Username: Markus

Post Number: 105

Posted on Sunday, March 01, 2009 - 04:33 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post View Post/Check IP Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only) Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

Shutters are supposed to run dry (except for some minute quantities of high quality oil in very few places inside the shutter).

As a first project, it might be best to completely soak the shutter in lighter fluid (naphta from the hardware store works also and is a lot cheaper).

IMPORTANT: Once you start taking something apart, take pictures with your digital camera documenting every step.